Each year the department shall assess a surcharge on the license of each person who during the preceding 36-month period has been convicted of driving while license invalid, driving while license suspended or driving in violation of motor vehicle liability insurance requirement. Driving with a license found in a Cracker Jack box or hanging from ceilings will get a person into some serious trouble.
The amount of a surcharge for such an offense is $250 per year. For that amount of money, a person could get a valid license and plenty of Cracker Jack boxes to go around. Each year the department shall assess a surcharge on the license of a person who during the preceding 36-month period has been convicted of an offense of which a license is required. A person, unless otherwise stated by the Texas Transportation Code, may not operate a motor vehicle on a highway in Texas unless the person holds a driver’s license issued under the laws of the Texas Transportation Code. The real trick is figuring out how points are accrued on a license that doesn’t exist. That’s some kind of crazy Picasso thinking. Once that’s settled, the amount of a surcharge for the offense is $100 per year.